Property for sale in Lazio

Sort By:

Learn more about Lazio, Italy

Lazio is a region in central Italy, located on the western side of the Apennine Mountains, with a coastline along the Tyrrhenian Sea. It is one of the smallest regions in Italy.

Covering an area of just over 17,000 square kilometers, and it is home to over 5.8 million people. Lazio is divided into five provinces: Rome, Latina, Frosinone, Viterbo, and Rieti, each with its own unique features and attractions.

Rome is the capital of Italy and the largest city in the Lazio region. It is known for its rich history, culture, and architecture, with numerous ancient landmarks such as the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, and the Pantheon. Other popular attractions in Rome include the Vatican City, the Trevi Fountain, and the Spanish Steps. The city is also famous for its cuisine, with dishes like pasta alla carbonara, cacio e pepe, and supplì.

Latina is the second-largest province in Lazio, located along the coast of the Tyrrhenian Sea. It is known for its beautiful beaches, such as Sabaudia and Sperlonga, as well as its natural parks, such as the Circeo National Park and the Regional Park of the Pontine Islands. Latina also has a rich history, with ancient ruins like the Temple of Jupiter Anxur in Terracina and the Roman port of Minturnae.

Frosinone is a landlocked province in the heart of Lazio, known for its rugged terrain and mountainous landscape. It is home to the National Park of Abruzzo, Lazio and Molise, which is a protected area known for its diverse flora and fauna. Frosinone is also known for its historic towns, such as Anagni, Alatri, and Ferentino, which are known for their medieval architecture and religious monuments.

Viterbo is a province in northern Lazio, known for its picturesque countryside and thermal springs. The city of Viterbo is the provincial capital and is known for its ancient walls, palaces, and churches. The province is also home to Lake Bolsena, the largest volcanic lake in Europe, which is known for its clear waters and scenic beauty. Other popular attractions in Viterbo include the Etruscan necropolis of Tarquinia and the medieval town of Civita di Bagnoregio.

Rieti is the smallest province in Lazio, located in the northeastern part of the region. It is known for its natural beauty, with mountains, valleys, and rivers that offer opportunities for outdoor activities like hiking, fishing, and rafting. The city of Rieti is the provincial capital and is known for its historic center, which features medieval churches and palaces. Other popular attractions in Rieti include the Marmore Falls, one of the tallest waterfalls in Europe, and the Franciscan sanctuary of Greccio.

Lazio is a region rich in history, culture, and natural beauty, with each of its five provinces offering something unique and special. Whether you are interested in ancient ruins, picturesque countryside, or beautiful beaches, Lazio has something to offer for everyone.

Weekly Property Newsletter

Stay up to date with our weekly property newsletter, including our latest blog & news articles plus a selection of the very best property from our portal, we include all properties types and regions.

Compare listings